This limestone barn was built in 1856, at the same time that C.D. “Doc” Bevington built his nearby brick mansion and three-hole privy. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.
The barn measures 18 feet by36 feet and was constructed of both rough cut and rubble (uncut) limestone that was likely quarried nearby on Bevington’s extensive farmland. The barn has two-stories on the south but only one on the north.
Once used to showcase Bevington’s well-bred draft horses, the barn now houses a variety of chicken breeds and the occasional duck or two, much to the delight of Museum visitors.